The collections: a brief history
The artistic collections housed by the Biblioteca Capitolare boast a long history, strictly linked to the vicissitudes of the Cathedral Chapter. They mostly consist of donations made by the Canons themselves and by private citizens to the Chapter and its premises: such as the sacristy, the meeting room and the Library. There are also objects from the Chapter’s churches (St. Helen’s and the Cathedral), or which were found during archaeological digs in the surroundings of the cloister.
News of the establishment of an artistic collection belonging to the Chapter date back to 1673, when Canon Stefano Trentossi donated about 70 paintings; the collection was then enlarged through additional donations. The real Canonical Museum was established after WWII , when these pieces were united with other items from private donations, or from other churches of the Diocese.
The recent restoration of the canonical buildings allowed for the Museum to be expanded and to improve its exhibition, with the display of not only paintings, but also of other collections which were inaccessible before, such as the archaeological materials and the sacred furnishings.
The museum, whose rooms are in some cases decorated with frescos and ornated ceilings, is set within the Cathedral cloister, and stands on the remains of the first and second paleo-Christian basilicas, still partially visible under St. Helen’s Church and the cloister itself. Together with the cloister, the nearby Cathedral and, of course, the Biblioteca Capitolare, they represent the ideal introduction to the visit of the Museum.
For information and reservations
The Museo Canonicale can be visited by groups by reservation only.
Contact: Franco Trevisani
Tel. +39 334 3561822 – email@example.com